Peanut Butter Balls (No Bake!)

Leave a comment

November 28, 2012 by Mo Minahan

I’ve been wanting to make no-bake treats forever. I don’t know why I never tried it before, but the time has come. Last weekend I was craving something sweet. Since I threw out my chocolate almonds a week ago – I do that once a month to see if I’m addicted to chocolate or if I can stop by choice – I had no chocolate in sight and was forced to use what I had on hand. Peanut butter, check. Oats, check. Almonds, check. Honey, check.

Warning: These are super filling, so they’re great for a midday snack, but if you eat them before dinner (like I did) you might not have room in your tummy for anything else!

Okay, here we go!

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups gluten-free oats
1/2 cup ground flax seed (did this in the coffee grinder!)
1/2 cup sliced almonds, chopped
4 TBS chia seeds
1/4 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter, melted
1/2 cup + 2 TBS honey
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup finely crushed peanuts (or almonds)
pinch of salt

DIRECTIONS:

Mix oats, almonds, flaxseed, chia seeds, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl.

Melt peanut butter and stir in honey and vanilla extract. When cool, pour over the oat mixture and stir well with a spoon or your hands (sticky!)

Roll mixture into small balls, then roll in the ground peanuts. You can add chocolate chips to the mixture if you like, but these were yummy without them and just sweet enough to hit the spot.

Eat up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

